What are the five key attributes of cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity has five foundational pillars. The key triad is known as “CIA” – Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability. Information is not disclosed to system entities (users, processes, devices) unless they have been authorized to access the information.

What are the 5 NIST CSF categories?

They include identify, protect, detect, respond, and recover. These five NIST functions all work concurrently and continuously to form the foundation where other essential elements can be built for successful high-profile cybersecurity risk management.

What are the 5 functions described in the NIST Framework?

Here, we’ll be diving into the Framework Core and the five core functions: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, and Recover. NIST defines the framework core on its official website as a set of cybersecurity activities, desired outcomes, and applicable informative references common across critical infrastructure sectors.

What are the key aspects of cybersecurity?

The following are the main five components that make up the broader whole of cybersecurity.

  • Critical infrastructure. …
  • Cloud security. …
  • Internet of things (IoT) …
  • Network security. …
  • Ongoing employee training.

What are the main components of the NIST cybersecurity framework?

What are the five phases of the NIST cybersecurity framework? NIST framework is divided into 5 main functions. These functions are as follows: identity, protect, detect, respond, and recover.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: What does Don't let your guard down mean?

What are the NIST security controls?

The NIST SP 800-53 security control families are:

  • Access Control.
  • Audit and Accountability.
  • Awareness and Training.
  • Configuration Management.
  • Contingency Planning.
  • Identification and Authentication.
  • Incident Response.
  • Maintenance.

What are the NIST categories?

Categories: Identity Management, Authentication and Access Control, Awareness & Training, Data Security, Info Protection & Procedures, Maintenance, Protective Technology.

What is a core function?

A core function is defined as a group of services, products and/or activities designed to achieve a common result(s) necessary to achieve the mission. … Core functions also provide valuable information such as comparability between agencies related to services provided and results achieved.

What are the three key elements of cybersecurity?

The CIA triad refers to an information security model made up of the three main components: confidentiality, integrity and availability. Each component represents a fundamental objective of information security.

What are the elements of cyber crime?

(legal term) As in traditional crimes, for a cybercrime to exist four elements must be present: actus reus (the prohibited act or failing to act when one is supposed to be under duty to do so); mens rea (a culpable mental state); attendant circumstances (the existence of certain necessary conditions); and harm …

What are the two components of cybersecurity risk?

Protecting all data sources, establishing a cyber perimeter, and monitoring threats are all foundational pillars to cyber risk management.